Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Discussions for BiPAC Homplug products: P106N, P106R2, 2073N, 2074..etc
J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:09 pm

So, after a particularly daft start to proceedings, I thought I'd try again.

Hi everyone,
I recently upgraded my LinkSys DG834GT to a 7300n & connected it to the main PC (windows 7) which happens to be at one end of quite a long ground floor flat. The 7300n setup was very smooth and I've not had any problems whatsoever when it comes to the wired connection to the PC. The issue I have had was that for the laptop (windows 7) and iPad that are being exclusively used at the very other end of the flat, the 7300n just hasn't been able to deliver a wifi network that was up to the job. At the wireless end of the flat, the connection was iffy to say the least, with frequent drop-outs or failed connections. I'm tied to where I can put the 7300n due to space and wiring constraints, and therefore thought boosting the signal might be the way forward.

I purchased a 3100sn and followed the setup for it using the instruction manual, and after many false starts have managed to get a connection at the wireless end of the house. The problem I'm having is that the wireless connection to the 3100sn is very problematic. I can connect to it on the laptop and iPad, and all the network tools show a connection to the internet, however there is an intermittent issue with the DNS server. Either internet connection is fantastic via the 3100sn, or the internet keeps throwing up DNS server lookup failures.

I've read the many threads over at the Australian Billion forums and searched the forums here, but there doesn't seem to be many people with the same problem.

I have made sure that...
  • Both the 7300n & 3100sn are using the same channel (6 in this case as I'm surrounded by networks using channel 11).
    Both the 7300n & 3100sn are using the same security mode (WPA2) and key.
    The 3100sn is in AP Client mode.
    WDS is on.
    WPS is disabled.
    Both 7300n & 3100sn have different SSIDs so that I can pick the better signal.
    Both have up-to-date firmware (7300n 1.08a & 3100sn 1.06k-c)
What am I missing? I can post screen shots of both router and AP configuration pages if it would be useful.

John
Last edited by J0hnanderson on Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:21 am

I'm coming to the conclusion that the 7300n isn't assigning DHCP to the 3100sn. I've ensured the router automatically assigns DHCP, and the ap uses the router to assign DHCP. I can connect to the Internet both wirelessly and via Ethernet on the router, but no joy on the laptop or iPad through the 3100sn. Any ideas would be very gratefully received. When I can get the screen shots of my laptop I'll post them.
John

J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:08 am

Deleted. Issue resolved.
John
Last edited by J0hnanderson on Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:10 am

Deleted. Issue resolved.
John
Last edited by J0hnanderson on Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:10 pm

Deleted. Issue resolved.
John
Last edited by J0hnanderson on Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:22 pm

Deleted. Issue resolved.
John
Last edited by J0hnanderson on Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:24 pm

Deleted. Issue resolved.
John
Last edited by J0hnanderson on Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SinkRate
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by SinkRate » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:21 pm

Can you get a reliable connection on the laptop by connecting to the Ethernet port on the 3100 ? May help in solving the problem.

J0hnanderson
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by J0hnanderson » Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:02 am

No, no wireless internet connection via the ethernet cable.
John

SinkRate
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Round 2: John vs the 3100sn

Post by SinkRate » Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:38 pm

Wondering if the 3100 is just too far away from the 7300 to get a decent signal. Could you move it, as a temporary measure, a bit closer.
inSSIDer is a good tool if you don't have it already. Install on laptop and it will show relative signal strengths and also other routers that
may be interfering on the same or a close channel.

Post Reply