Naming of attached devices

Got a suggestion or want to add something to our future wishlist?
Post Reply
wingco1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:09 pm

Naming of attached devices

Post by wingco1 » Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:46 am

Hi All,

Would you please consider allowing users to rename devices attached to the router. MAC addresses are fine but really don't help when checking what is connected to the router. It would be much easier for a user to replace the MAC with a meaningful name such as; iphone, ipad etc.,

This option is available in other makes of router.

Many thanks

harry66
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:08 pm

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by harry66 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:13 pm

+2nd this idea.

I have use MAC address filtering with my past 4 routers - 3 Netgears and more recently the Sky+ Hub - all three allowed device names to be specified for each MAC filter entry.

Was very disappointed that my new 8800NL does not allow names to be specified for the devices. Not going to be easy to remove devices from the list when they break / get lost etc.

m-a-r-k
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:37 pm
Location: Highlands, Scotland

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by m-a-r-k » Sat Nov 15, 2014 5:33 pm

+3
I have MAC Filtering on 6 SSIDs and probably 15 MAC Addresses including guests - a nightmare to keep track of, especially after a corrupted config yesterday.

MysteryFCM
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:21 am

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by MysteryFCM » Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:19 pm

Would like to see this added too.

harry66
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:08 pm

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by harry66 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:02 pm

Dont suppose this got added to the new recent Firmware release?

Marksfish
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:15 pm

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by Marksfish » Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:28 pm

Yes please< I would like to see this too.

Mark

harry66
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:08 pm

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by harry66 » Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:43 pm

Bumping this - wishful thinking?

I just had the issue where I ran out of MAC Filter entries and the UI would not let me add any more.
I just had to delete a few randomly and hope for the best...

It is a shame that Billion have chosen not to add this feature...

Thanks!

anajames
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:02 am

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by anajames » Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:36 pm

May be they take the step in the near future.

HarlBen
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:58 am

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by HarlBen » Fri Jul 07, 2017 3:20 pm

anajames wrote:May be they take the step in the near future.

I am hoping they will. This needs to be sorted out.

rearmiend
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:06 pm

Re: Naming of attached devices

Post by rearmiend » Wed Apr 24, 2019 9:17 am

Did you solve the problem? :?:

Post Reply