7800N and 3100SN wireless access points

Post Reply
UncleDilly
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 5:53 pm

7800N and 3100SN wireless access points

Post by UncleDilly » Sun Feb 15, 2015 6:04 pm

I have a 7800N main router with a 3100SN in WDS repeater mode both run on channel 11

I also have a second 3100SN connected via LAN cable through a Zyzel 8 port switch and running on channel 12.

Wherever I go my iPads & iPhones roam from AP to AP quite happily but when connected to the WDS AP, sometimes think they are not fully connected to the net. They receive email but can't operate eBay or similar

The AP's are ...254, ...253 & ...252. only the 7800 is a DHCP server using the range ...100 to ...200

Any clues anyone?

billion_fan
Posts: 5272
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 7800N and 3100SN wireless access points

Post by billion_fan » Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:35 am

UncleDilly wrote:I have a 7800N main router with a 3100SN in WDS repeater mode both run on channel 11

I also have a second 3100SN connected via LAN cable through a Zyzel 8 port switch and running on channel 12.

Wherever I go my iPads & iPhones roam from AP to AP quite happily but when connected to the WDS AP, sometimes think they are not fully connected to the net. They receive email but can't operate eBay or similar

The AP's are ...254, ...253 & ...252. only the 7800 is a DHCP server using the range ...100 to ...200

Any clues anyone?
What is IP address of the 7800??

PDilly
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: 7800N and 3100SN wireless access points

Post by PDilly » Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:41 pm

Hi
7800N is ...254 now channel 9
WDS 3100SN is ...253 also channel 9
Wired 3100SN is ...252 now channel 13 to prevent overlap.

Devices roam ok but it appears that when hopping channels sight of some devices on the channel are lost

every device connects using IP's issued by DHCP from the 7800

Pinging the device seems to restore normality

It's just possible that because the wired 3100 is closer to the WDS 3100 than the 7800 is, it's signal is having a negative effect on their WDS relationship.

I think what I need is a router with a 50 foot signal radius. My bungalow is L-shaped with the router in the middle and the primary use areas at each extreme

billion_fan
Posts: 5272
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 7800N and 3100SN wireless access points

Post by billion_fan » Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:35 am

PDilly wrote:Hi
7800N is ...254 now channel 9
WDS 3100SN is ...253 also channel 9
Wired 3100SN is ...252 now channel 13 to prevent overlap.

Devices roam ok but it appears that when hopping channels sight of some devices on the channel are lost

every device connects using IP's issued by DHCP from the 7800

Pinging the device seems to restore normality

It's just possible that because the wired 3100 is closer to the WDS 3100 than the 7800 is, it's signal is having a negative effect on their WDS relationship.

I think what I need is a router with a 50 foot signal radius. My bungalow is L-shaped with the router in the middle and the primary use areas at each extreme
Have you tried to change the channel to channel 1 for the wired 3100SN and also change the bandwidth to 20mhz

Post Reply