scooter49

Post by scooter49 »

Newbie here and a bit of a lamer.
I would like to gain access to my 7800n router remotely when I am on holiday abroad.

I have security cameras set up through a qnap. I have set port forwarding so I can gain access remotely to the qnap and it works fine. However, sometimes it goes down and a modem reboot is the only thing to bring things back online.

I have spent hours looking at how to set the modem so I can also log in to it remotely when I am away and I am not getting anywhere. Can someone please take me through the steps required to do this. I have a static ip.

Any help greatly appreciated.
Philip_L

Re: log in to router over internet

Post by Philip_L »

Hi

The Billion 7800N is a bit funny to set up for remote access and I've never fully understood it so always been trial and error, but do have it working. There are two areas that seem relevant on first trying to set it up, these are in Configuration - Advanced, one is Web Access Control and one is Remote Access.

I think Web Access control is related to the internal network only, on mine it is disabled but I can still access the Billion from outside, be careful with this setting, I was messing with it trying to get remote access working and was able to lock myself out of the Admin interface completely! The terminology used for remote access on the Billion is confusing. Billion don't do UI interfaces very well (that's in addition to looking like a relic from the web circa 1997 :? )

The setting I found that is key is Remote Access, with Web Access Control best left alone and disabled.